The grand opening of The Greater Hamilton Shopping Centre took place on October 26, 1955 and was one of the first shopping malls built in North America. The Land was first purchased in 1953 from the Jockey Club racetrack by the newly formed Great Hamilton Shopping Centre consortium. In 1974 the centre was enclosed and the name changed to The Centre Mall.
1982 saw the arrival of the new food court and KMART department store. In 2008, Triovest Realty Advisors Inc. began the phased dismantling and rebuilding of the 74 acre property.
New spaces, fresh faces and a whole new look! What was once a dated, enclosed shopping centre, was now making way for a new vibrant open-air shopping destination. With the completion of phase one of the redevelopment, Triovest Realty Advisors Inc. was pleased to introduce Hamilton to a completely new shopping destination with a fresh, new name, The Centre on Barton.